Australian Prints + Printmaking

I use the National Gallery of Australia’s Australian Prints + Printmaking website quite a bit in my research as a number of potters also work  in two-dimensional media or go on to do so.  Sometimes a snippet of information like a birth date or an exhibition poster turns up only in this resource and I snatch it up for my database. Sometimes I’m able to make a minor correction. I can’t have visited recently, however, as I found out today that it has an entirely new interface! I’ve just spent an hour exploring the new discovery pathways and looking up the printmakers we have on our own walls like GW Bot, Chris Denton and Marina Ky. Even David has an entry there. In 1996, he spent time at Studio One Inc learning to make intaglio prints.  When the National gallery of Australia acquired the studio archive in 2004, an etching of his was included in the archive and now resides in the NGA collection. Fame comes in curious ways.

Leave a Reply

