Mystery potter #51: WM (painted)

WM. Plate
WM. Plate. Base

This handsome decorative plate with Matisse-like sgraffito bird is signed ‘WM’. A forum friend suggested it might have been made by  the New Zealand potter Wisha McNaught who has a similar monogram with the W over the M forming two Xs. This reminded me to check my Marks of New Zealand Potters more often, given how many mystery potters turn out to be New Zealanders.

When fetching the link for this neat little reference book from Trove, I was surprised to see that it is not held in an Australian library. Published by the New Zealand Potters’ Society in 2007, it contains over 1,500 marks in a simple, easily browsable form. Luckily since I have a copy, confirming the lead was the action of a moment and I was able to contact Wisha via the Wellington Potters Society. She says it is not her work although she wishas it was!

5 comments

  1. Hi Judith, Could this plate be by Mary Wallace, she has a few different marks with an M over a W although I havent seen a painted version before

  2. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to contribute & help other users like its aided me. Great job.

Leave a Reply

